Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[solved]network configuration applet problem
12-22-2008, 05:53 AM (This post was last modified: 03-03-2009 11:45 AM by leszek.)
Post: #1
Big Grin [solved]network configuration applet problem
I just installed zevenOS on my computer (Compaq Deskpro sff Pentium III), when I tried to configure my network I could not unlock the applet. I was forced to set up with the command line.

When I pressed the unlock button, it did ask for my password, which I entered but nothing happened. Update Manager worked ok (once the network was setup). So far It just seems to be the Network applet.

Scott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2008, 03:55 PM
Post: #2
RE: network configuration applet problem
Sadly you will find anything that uses the Unlock thing doesn't work.

I think it's a problem in the policykit somewhere, it works fine in livecd , but not when you install.

Regards

bin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2008, 09:51 PM
Post: #3
RE: network configuration applet problem
Please activate the Intrepid Source (there is one commented out in the /etc/apt/sources.list) and update policykit.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2008, 03:12 AM
Post: #4
RE: network configuration applet problem
Thank you for your quick reply, but I can find any Intrepid sources listed in my /etc/apt/sources.list .
Could you give the line to add.

Thank you.
Scott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-23-2008, 03:22 PM
Post: #5
RE: network configuration applet problem
Code:
deb http://de.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid main restricted universe multiverse

This is a german Server. You can change the 2 letter code at the beginning of the url to change it to a country near you.

You need to upgrade the following 2 packages:
Code:
policykit
policykit-gnome
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2008, 12:26 AM
Post: #6
RE: network configuration applet problem
solved - Thank you

When I first updated those two packages I had no change. I found that only two of the four libraries associated with policykit upgraded, so upgrading the other two fixed it. total upgraded files 6 - 2 you mentioned and 4 libraries.

Again thnk you everything seems to be working. now to get rid of the German in firefox!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2008, 12:37 AM
Post: #7
RE: network configuration applet problem
Hi

Just use the Synaptic Packagemanger and deinstall language-support-de

This should "delete" all german from your system

greez

LinuxWarrior
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-02-2009, 12:43 PM
Post: #8
RE: network configuration applet problem
Just use the Synaptic Packagemanger and deinstall language-support-de

This should "delete" all german from your system

greez

LinuxWarrior


Doesn´t work. there seems to be customisation in there, also in thunar I get German (uca.xml) can I just delete this file? What is the file for Firefox? and can I delete it?

Scott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2009, 11:28 AM (This post was last modified: 01-03-2009 11:28 AM by leszek.)
Post: #9
RE: network configuration applet problem
You can easily customize the uca.xml . It is necessary to show you the different customized commands, like open terminal here , or playback the folder in audacious and so on.
Simply open up Thunar then goto edit -> Customized Commands (or something called similiar)

2. Which file for firefox do you mean ?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-04-2009, 06:41 PM
Post: #10
RE: network configuration applet problem
(01-03-2009 11:28 AM)leszek Wrote:  2. Which file for firefox do you mean ?

I don´t know which file, I just see it in the Bookmarks labeling the toolbar and the speeddial I think. My translation is not good.

with regard to the uca.xml file I don´t know what the option is, whether I want it.

Scott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)